Prof. Dr. Yur Ren Kuo

fellow image

Prof. Dr. Yur Ren Kuo

Prof. Dr. Yur Ren Kuo, is currently the Professor and Chairman of Department of Surgery, and Chief of Plastic Surgery, Director of Transplantation Center, Kaohsiung Medical University Hospital, Taiwan. He has met full residency training of general surgery and plastic surgery in National Taiwan University and Chang Gung Memorial Hospital in 1991- 1997.

Dr. Kuo is an internationally renowned “Surgeon-Scientist”, not only in clinical practice, but also in basic research. Dr. Kuo attained his PhD degree from Graduate Institute of Clinical Medicine, Chang Gung Medical College in 2003. Then he served as the Post-doctor Research Associate position in the University Of Pittsburgh Medical Center, PA, between 2004 to 2005. His research focused on the immunomodulation of composite tissue allotransplantation.

Prof. Kuo has been honoured with numerous awards, orations, professorship, and honorary appointments. He has been selected as “International Guest Scholar” awarded by the American College of Surgeons (ACS) in 2003. He was conferred the “Godina Lecture Award” sponsored by American Society for Reconstructive Microsurgery (ASRM) in 2009. He was also awarded The “Young Investigator Award” of American Transplant Congress (ATC), USA in 2011, and 18 “Visiting Professorship Award” appointed by Association for Academic Surgery (AAS), USA in 2014. He also has been invited as Visiting Professorship in numerous famous medical centres in the world.

Prof. Kuo is active in his prestigious academic and professional career. Dr. Kuo is an expert focused on microsurgical reconstruction for head neck and extremity defects. Prof. Kuo has mentored 40 clinical fellows over the past 20 years. He also as a true physician scientist devoted in transplant immunology, reconstructive microsurgery, wound healing, keloids scar, stem cells regenerative medicine. He has authored more than 170 leading peer reviewed innovative clinical and numerous basic research papers, 6 book chapters, and editorial board committee of three scientific journals.